Children’s Book Council of Australia Shortlist

The Children's Book Council of Australia (CBCA) is a volunteer run, not-for-profit organisation established in 1945, and is comprised of branches of individual members who are passionate about children's and young adult literature.

Each year the CBCA selects a shortlist (and sometimes an additional series of notable title) of the very best publications in a number of categories, including:

  • Older Readers
  • Younger Readers
  • Early Childhood
  • Picture Books
  • Eve Pownall Award
  • The Crichton Award for Illustrators
  • Activity Books

We've presented the shortlisted publications by year and category for your convenience - select one of the categories below: